College Announces 2012 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars

Clatsop Community College Students Alana Darcher and Helen Johnson have been selected as the CCC 2012 All-0regon Academic Team Scholars.

Academic Team Scholars are selected annually from each community college based on excellence in the classroom, intellectual curiosity, service to the college and community, and their ability to share their talents with others.

Ms. Darcher was born in Astoria, Oregon and currently resides in Naselle, Washington. She attended Clatsop Community College for her junior and senior years of high school. In the Spring of 2012 she will graduate from Naselle High School and from Clatsop Community College with an associate’s degree. In the fall of 2012, she plans on attending a private university to complete her bachelor’s degree in neuroscience before continuing into a Master’s or PhD program in the same field. For her graduate and post-graduate work she would like to participate in neuroscientific medical research.

Ms. Johnson is a fourth generation Astorian, and a very proud Norwegian-American. She currently serves as President of the CCC Associated Student Government. Ms. Johnson plans on attending Western Oregon University in the fall, where she will pursue her undergraduate degree in Elementary Education. She plans on eventually getting my Master’s degree in school administration, and will hopefully be able to someday move back to the North Oregon Coast.

Both students will be honored with a trip to Salem in April where they will attend a brunch with other All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars, and meet Governor John Kitzhaber, who will present each Scholar with a medallion recognizing their achievement. The students will be accompanied by CCC President Larry Galizio.

All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars receive a $1,000 Oregon transfer scholarship, and are also nominated for national recognition as a member of the “All-USA Academic Team” and the “Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.”

CCC Math Instructor, Liz Hylton, coordinates the All-Oregon Academic Team selection process, which is sponsored by the Oregon Community College Association. Please direct inquiries to: Liz Hylton, 503-338-2507.

Clatsop Community College is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.
Attached Images:
Alana Darcher, CCC 2012 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholar

Portrait: Alana Darcher, 2012 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholar
Helen Johnson, CCC 2012 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholar

Portrait: Helen Johnson, 2012 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholar

All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars with Governor John Kitzhaber. Photo submited by Oregon Community College Association.

All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars with Governor Kitzhaber on capital steps following award ceremony

-A A +A
Edit My CCC Account