CCC Board Elects 2014-2015 Leadership

The Board of Directors of Clatsop Community College elected its new officers for 2014-2015 at its regular board meeting, July 8, 2014.

CCC board chair Rosemary Baker-MonaghanBoard members elected Rosemary Baker-Monaghan, who represents Zone 3, as Chair. Baker-Monaghan was appointed to the Clatsop Community College Board in October 2000 and is currently serving her third elected four-year term. She is a graduate of Washington State University with a Bachelors of Science degree in Forest Management and a Masters of Adult and Continuing Education. Baker-Monaghan is the Executive Director of the Liberty Theater, a board member of CEDR and the Lewis and Clark National Park Association, and chair of the Lower Columbia Tourism Committee. She served in public office from 1991 - 2003 with the City of Seaside, including positions on the Planning Commission and City Council, and as Mayor.











CCC Board Vice Chair Karen BurkeKaren Burke, representing Zone 1, was elected as Vice Chair.  Burke was appointed to the Board of Directors in April 2014. She is a Clatsop County native who graduated from Knappa High School. Burke earned a diploma in nursing from Emanuel Hospital School of Nursing in Portland, later completing baccalaureate studies at Oregon Health & Science University, and a master’s degree in nursing at the University of Portland. She returned to the area with her husband Steve and family in 1983 to teach in the then new nursing program at Clatsop Community College. In addition to more than 30 years of active involvement in nursing education, Ms. Burke is co-author of two nursing textbooks. 











CCC Board members are elected based on geographic representation as follows:

  • Zone 1:  Elsie and Jewell Areas, Knappa-Svensen areas and Westport
  • Zone 2:  City of Astoria, John Day area, Lewis & Clark area, and Olney-Walluski areas
  • Zone 3: City of Cannon Beach, City of Seaside, City of Gearhart, Arch Cape area, City of Warrenton, Clatsop Plains area, Necanicum area south of Seaside, and Stanley Acres north of Seaside. 

Other appointments for 2014/2015 included:

  • Larry McKinley, liaison to the CCC Foundation Board
  • Tessa James Scheller, Oregon Community College Association representative; Patrick Wingard, alternate
  • Karen Burke, Rosemary Baker-Monaghan and Tessa James Scheller to the college’s Spirit of Clatsop Committee


-A A +A
Edit My CCC Account