2014 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars Named

Clatsop Community College students Raylene McGuire and Juanita “JD” Spencer have been selected as the 2014 All-0regon Academic Team Scholars.

Academic Team Scholars are selected annually from each community college in Oregon based on excellence in the classroom, intellectual curiosity, service to the college and community, and their ability to share their talents with others. All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars receive a $1,000 Oregon transfer scholarship, and are also nominated for national recognition as a member of the “All-USA Today Academic Team” and the “Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.”

Both students will be honored with a trip to Salem in April where they will attend a brunch with other All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars, and meet Governor John Kitzhaber, who will present the Scholars with medallions recognizing their achievements. The students will be accompanied by CCC President Lawrence Galizio.

CCC Math Instructor Liz Hylton coordinates the All-Oregon Academic Team selection process, which is sponsored by the Oregon Community College Association. Please direct inquiries to: Liz Hylton, 503-338-2507.

Raylene McGuire photo



Raylene McGuire is from Westport, OR. Ms. McGuire is pursuing a transfer degree and plans to continue her education at Eastern Oregon University. McGuire is a member of the CCC Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. She intends to become a teacher, having discovered a love of education and a desire to share that attitude with others.










Juanita "JD" Spencer



Juanita “JD” Spencer is an Astoria resident. She is also pursuing a transfer degree and will continue at Eastern Oregon University. Ms. Spencer plans to complete a Ph.D. in English. She serves as a Vice-President of the CCC Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, is co-founder of Club Access at CCC and serves on the college’s Disability Services Advisory Committee.

In addition to her recognition as an All-Oregon Scholar, Spencer has been selected as a COCA-COLA Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar from among 1,700 nominees. As one of only 50 individuals named Silver Scholars, Spencer will receive an additional $1,250 scholarship.















-A A +A
Edit My CCC Account