2011 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars

CCC Students John Edwards (Seaside, OR) and Heidi Roberts (Astoria, OR) have been selected as the CCC 2011 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars.

The All-Oregon Team Scholars was formerly called the "OCCA Outstanding Scholars".

Faculty and staff nominate students whom they believe are most outstanding in terms of excellence in the classroom, general intellectual curiosity, service to the college and their community and the ability to share their talents with others.

Mr. Edwards plans to transfer to Portland State University or Oregon State University to pursue an Engineering related degree. Ms. Roberts has set her sights on Eastern Oregon University to study Accounting.

Both students will be honored with a trip to Salem in April for a luncheon with student scholars selected by other Oregon community colleges and their presidents. On that day, they will be presented to the House and the Senate where the governor will meet each scholar individually and present them with a medallion and certificate noting their academic accomplishments. They also receive a $1,000 Oregon transfer scholarship and a chance for national recognition by becoming a member of the “All-USA Academic Team.”

Liz Hylton, one of CCC’s Mathematics Instructors, coordinates the All-Oregon Academic Team selection process, which is sponsored by the Oregon Community College Association. For further information, please contact Ms. Hylton at 503-338-2507.

Clatsop Community College is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.


3 people standing in front of desk

CCC 2011 All-Oregon Academic Team Scholars John Edwards, above, and Heidi Roberts, below, with Department of Community Colleges & Workforce Development Commissioner Cam PreusCam PreusCam Preus and Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber.

3 people standing in front of desk

-A A +A
Edit My CCC Account