Version Switcher



Board of Directors

Karen Burke

Zone 1/Term expires: 2015

Karen Burke was appointed to the Board of Directors in April 2014. She is a Clatsop County native who graduated from Knappa High School. Karen earned a diploma in nursing from Emanuel Hospital School of Nursing in Portland, later completing baccalaureate studies at Oregon Health & Science University, and a master’s degree in nursing at the University of Portland. Karen returned to the area with her husband Steve and family in 1983 to teach in the then new nursing program at Clatsop Community College. In addition to more than 30 years of active involvement in nursing education, Ms. Burke is coauthor of two nursing textbooks.  She strongly values the importance of providing a strong education in the art and science of nursing for students preparing to enter the profession.  Karen’s and Steve’s children, Nathan and Kristin, also graduated from Knappa High School before moving on to the University of Oregon. In retirement, Karen and Steve enjoy gardening, fishing, traveling, and spending time with children and grandchildren.






Rosemary Baker-MonaghanRosemary Baker-Monaghan, Chair
Zone 3/Term expires: 2017

Rosemary Baker-Monaghan was appointed to the College Board in October 2000 and is currently serving her third elected 4 year term. Rosemary and her husband Daniel Monaghan moved to Seaside in 1987. She is a graduate of Washington State University with a Bachelors of Science degree in Forest Management and a Masters of Adult and Continuing Education. Rosemary is the Executive Director of the Liberty Theater, board member of CEDR, the Lewis and Clark National Park Association and chair of the Lower Columbia Tourism Committee. Rosemary served 12 years in public office from 1991 - 2003 with the City of Seaside, 4 1/2 years on the Planning Commission, 4 years on the City Council, and 4 years as Mayor.



Frank SatterwhiteDr. Frank Satterwhite
Zone 2/Term expires: 2017

Frank Satterwhite has been on the Clatsop College Board since September, 1998. Prior to that he worked in the field of education since 1961, teaching elementary grades, working in school psychology, and university/community college instruction. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of Washington in 1970. Currently he is semi-retired and works part time as a psychologist in rural and bush schools in Alaska. Frank has lived in Clatsop County since 1980 and is married to Clatsop County native Betty (Justen) Satterwhite. They have three adult children, Jim, Melissa, and Will, all of whom graduated from Astoria High School and attended Clatsop Community College and Oregon State University. Their family now includes four wonderful grandchildren, Connor, Sophia, Kia, and Ashlyn.



Paul GillumPaul Gillum
Zone 2/Term expires: 2015

Paul Gillum is a retired Astoria Police Officer, who, parallel in time was and is a sculptor of fine art bronze, and currently owns Studio B in Astoria. Paul has lived in Astoria for about 46 years, and has been married to Jo Gillum a lifelong Astoria resident, for over 38 years. Paul was a US Marine, serving in Vietnam. Paul enjoys fine art, automobiles, and collects automobilia and soda fountain memorabilia, and loves to travel. Paul and Jo have a married son who is in the US Army and lives in Colorado.





Patrick WingardPatrick Wingard, Vice Chair
Zone 2/Term expires: 2017

Patrick Wingard was appointed to the Board in November 2012 and elected in 2013.  Born and raised in Detroit, Michigan, Patrick earned a B.S. in Civil Engineering from Michigan State University in 1993.  Patrick is the North Coast Regional Representative for the Oregon Dept. of Land and Conservation and Development (DLCD) and a member of the Governor's North Coast Regional Solutions Team.  Prior to his employment with DLCD, Patrick owned and operated Wingard Planning and Development Services and worked as Principal Planner for Clatsop County and Planning Director for the City of Warrenton.  Patrick and his wife, Mary, moved to Clatsop County in 2000 and have lived in Astoria since 2003.  They have two children, Davis and Lindsey, that attend Astoria public schools.  Patrick enjoys being a classroom volunteer at Astor and Lewis and Clark Elementary Schools and coaching football for Astoria Youth Athletics.  Patrick is also a member of the Education and Outreach Committee for the Chapter of the American Planning Association.


Tessa James Scheller November 2013 Tessa James Scheller
Zone 3/Term expires: 2015

Tessa James Scheller was appointed to the Board of Directors in April 2010, elected in 2011, and represents zone 3 that includes Clatsop Plains where she lives with her wife Jann, two dogs and a cat. She retired in 2008 after a 30 year career as a Nurse Anesthetist, CRNA.  Tessa James' daughter attended CCC for her first year of college.  Tessa James currently serves on the Board of the North Coast Watershed Assn., the Skipanon Water Control District and the Warrenton Trails Assn.  In 2013, Tessa James was appointed to the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Diversity Committee as an Associate Member.  Tessa James and her family enjoy hiking, biking, sailing and kayaking "our fantastic Columbia River region and actively support public use and protection of our outstanding natural resources."   Tessa James Scheller is excited and engaged regarding the progress of the renewed Lexington Avenue Campus and the offering of new and existing programs at Clatsop Community College.




Larry McKinley
Zone 3/Term expires: 2015

Larry McKinley was appointed to the Board of Directors in April 2014.  Larry started his career with the state of Oregon in 2000 and has served in several roles with the Department of Transportation.   In his current assignment he has served 8 years as the Northwest Area Manager with responsibilities for project development and delivery in Columbia, Clatsop, Tillamook and western Washington counties.  Prior to arriving at ODOT, Larry served 23 years in the Army retiring in 1998 as a Lieutenant Colonel.  Larry spent time in Southeast Asia, Central America, and several locations throughout the United States.  During his military career he completed Engineering Officer Basic and Advance training, Combined Arms Service and Staff School, and Command and General Staff College.  Larry is a fifth generation Oregonian raised in a farming family near Sheridan Oregon.  He received his bachelor’s degree from Eastern Oregon University.  Larry and his wife Launee have two grown children and currently reside in Warrenton, Oregon.






  • Zone 1:  Precincts 24, 28, 30, 44, 50, 52 (includes Elsie and Jewell Areas, Knappa-Svensen areas and Westport)
  • Zone 2:  Precincts 1-8, 29, 31, 36, 46 (includes City of Astoria, John Day area, Lewis & Clark area, and Olney-Walluski areas)
  • Zone 3: Precincts 20-26, 35, 37-40, 43, 45, 47-48 (includes City of Cannon Beach, City of Seaside, City of Gearhart, Arch Cape area, City of Warrenton, Clatsop Plains area, Necanicum area south of Seaside, and Stanley Acres north of Seaside).  

Use the Precinct Map to see where precincts stop and start.  Click Here for Precinct Map (.pdf, 350 KB)

* In order to view these documents (.PDF) you must have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer.


Last Updated: 
April 10, 2014, 9:26 am
-A A +A
Edit My CCC Account